1 (edited by Drahkar 2011-12-01 14:16:49)

Topic: Why nerf everyone's accumulator? Thelodica can't afford it

The intrusion 2.0 patch also includes this :

Change: Faction specific robot control extensions (Pelistal, Nuimqol, Thelodica, Industrial and Spec. ops) now don't give any extra bonuses anymore, but all affected robots have a new robot bonus based on these extensions instead.

Combat robots: 1% reduction to faction specific weapon cycle times
EW robots: 1% increase to signal masking
Industrial robots : 1% reduction to miner and harvesting module CPU usage
Industrial haulers: 1% increase to maximum armor HP

This means that any non-ewar pilot who put a ton of EP in spec ops will suddenly have their extension become useless (unless it gets refunded). As a thelodica combat pilot I've never had enough accumulator even in an Artemis, simply firing my guns with an accumulator module in a leg slot.

I'm pretty sure there was no imbalance where thelodica (and every other non-ewar) had too much accumulator. I think the previous mechanic behind these extensions was fine and if it gets changed then the Spec Ops extension should be refunded. Unless thelodica accumulator (and nuimquol combat mech and heavy mech accumulator) were in need of a nerf, we could also use a replacement for this extension.

If you really plan on going through with this change, perhaps it would be time to introduce Efficient Weapon Usage, -X% accumulator use on all weapons per level. In that case I would suggest 2% or 3% per level and a very high rank so that it's EP-expensive.

Also please don't give us a huge EP penalty for having trained that skill back when it was useful. I could use it somewhere else now.

AXE JOKE ECORP N-A CIR

Re: Why nerf everyone's accumulator? Thelodica can't afford it

All of these extensions should have been refunded as I know I trained the extension due to the bonus it gave.
Now that extension is rather useless to the level I have trained it to.