Topic: Factory Profitability?

Just wanted to check my math here.  I am a noob but I think I am headed in the correct direction.

So I want to make some money and improve the economy, so I decided to make ammo/mining charges.

First I looked at researching/using enough kernels to be able to prototype my own item, but its super intensive on resources and money.  So NIC wise that was out.

Plan B.  I have to buy from the market. 1000 of my chosen item off market.  20k

Now I need a decoder, but a level one decoder will start me off at 50% resource production penalty and double the resources needed to make my item.  So I buy a Level 4 decoder so I can use less resources and be able to use my CT for awhile.  40k

Now to Reverse Engineer my item.  17k  Good news is that my level four decoder got me to 64% for my Calibration template so instead of double the resources I only need about 64% more.  Oh... and a by the way, when you Reverse Engineer an item, it goes POOF!!!  News to me!

Ok so I put my Template in the factory, each run of 1000 will cost me 6.5k NIC per run.

So the total is 20k + 40k + 17k + 6.5k per run.  83.5k for that first run of 1000.  This is with me collecting 100% of the resources, and I did not calculate any cost involved with that.

At slightly under the current market rate it will be the 6th run before I see a dime of profit, even then not much.  So I need to burn about 20-ish runs for this to work out to not be a waste of time.

Am I way off base or does this sound about right?  I know costs/resources will go down as I get more EP and favorable relations.

Re: Factory Profitability?

1. Learn skills for:

• Refinery
    Effective resourses usage
    Amounts of items produced per cycle (with every cycle CT becomes worse)

2. Use lvl 2 production.
Go find the outposts with lvl2 factories or go to the new islands, they have all lvl2 production facilities. It will cost you less on money and time.