1 (edited by Legedric Warstrike 2011-03-25 09:14:01)

Topic: A new player's feedback after 3 days of gameplay...

Hi guys!

I just started playing PO on monday after a friend of mine (Caithleen/Natasya) persuaded me to come and join him to check out Perpetuum Online.
First of all, I think that PO has great potential and the game feels quite good after the first few hours of gameplay. But to be honest… if Natasya wouldn’t tell me all the good things about PO (Corp gameplay, PvP, base battles etc.) I would definitely quit this game right now and probably never give it a second chance.

The reason is not that I do not like sandbox or complex games as I played EVE, Fallen Earth and PotBS with great enthusiam, but more that I do not feel enough "motivation" during the first hours of gameplay.
For the first few hours of gameplay, the game has by far the most boring and annoying tutorial combined with a high learning curve especially regarding character progress (skills). I of course do not know the numbers but I guess the conversion from a new player to a player completing all the 10 tutorial missions is lower than 20-30%. I think we all know what this means for a game which is more of less “floating” somewhere in the MMO world waiting for players (and/or publishers).

So what are my main concerns:
1. Not enough motivation
The first few hours are very boring and as a player I do not feel rewarded (and so motivated) for the first steps I take within this game. In my opinion this could be "smothened" with just some simple steps. For example: After the player completes the movement tutorial reward him the first weapon. In this way the player will get the first "touchable" reward and he will also have to use it right away in the first combat tutorial.