1 (edited by Annihilator 2014-10-15 16:16:58)

Topic: Question to DEVs (Mineral spawn system) *updated*

is the mineral database still comparable with a "bitmap" ?

*Disclaimer: This post can contain strong sarcasm or cynical remarks. keep that in mind!
Whining - It's amazing how fast your trivial concerns will disappear

Re: Question to DEVs (Mineral spawn system) *updated*

yes

3 (edited by Annihilator 2012-09-28 00:17:40)

ok, thank you for the confirmation. without that i wouldn't have been able to ask the actual "questions":
(since im no coder, i have to continue to use the figurative speech)

• Assumptions:
    so - currently, each "tile" represents a "pixel" of a rather large uncompressed bitmap (2048x2048) depending on the bit depth, you probabyl have something like a few identification bits for the ore type, and the others for the actual amount (like hue and saturation of a picture).

That way you cannot have more then one ore type per tile if they are all in one "picture" (which i assume is the case atm), and even "empty" tiles consume memory.

You also cannot identify ore deposits as "one entity" after their random creation, nor can you apply additional "data" to a deposit, like a "creation date" or such, because you would need to write that into each pixel and that would blow up the memory usage again.

• Question
    If my assumptions are right, my question would be - could you modify that system so mineral data is stored like a in a vector image, that handles individual ore deposits as entities?
    That way you would be able to handle them with greater flexibility, adding attributes to deposits.
    each coordinate on the map could contain multiple ores, while keeping filesize low.

Just imagine the possiblities:

• adding "depth" attribute to HDT - small deposits easy to be found on the "surface", or huge deposits so deep down that you need a mining tower to access them.