Topic: spark teleport tuning by adding an item

People are currently suggesting a cooldown to limit the frequency of spark teleports.

I am a noob, and I don't understand the power projection technique. However, I do think that players routinely ask for things that make the game less fun. One of the things that makes the game more fun is mechanics that emphasize the substance and reality of the world.

If there were a large, crafted item - maybe call it spark teleport receptors - which were used up by spark teleports, then you could control spark teleports by controlling this resource. Then you can only spark teleport to a station where you have a spark teleport receptor in your private storage, and the spark teleport uses up the receptor. Then people cannot teleport repeatedly, indefinitely, to the same station.

If the teleport item was made out of precursors including:
1. an item found by scanning down artifacts in pvp areas
2. noralgis
3. epriton
4. nic

Then the thing that people apparently want to use but (apparently?) are overusing - spark teleports - would still be in the game, but it would be balanced by more actual playing, in various styles - scanning down artifacts, farming, mining, pve combat, crafting the receptor, and finally freighting the receptor from the factory to the station or stations that people want to spark teleport to.

Does that sound like fun? Might it get people out of the stations, doing stuff?

2 (edited by Burial 2014-10-14 06:41:34)

Re: spark teleport tuning by adding an item

That's an untradable item or not? If it's not, it's just a NIC sink where rich will have advantage over the poor. I'm going to post the idea I had for Spark TP when I started playing ArcheAge:

Would be interesting if certain game activities such as mining and PVE grinding gave you small chance to obtain an untradable Spark TP item that is consumed with every jump.