1 (edited by Zortarg Calltar 2014-01-24 02:38:32)

Topic: Terraforming Changes

with all the discussion in the gamma ballancing over various topics i think its a good idea to split this from the rest.

first of all i think we need to find a way to keep and improve the "beacon terraforming" or at least the "plan terraforming". without this terraforming will be a pain and ppl will not realy be able to terraform anything "nice" this will be a major turn off and if we cant create something nice to our liking with decent tools then i think it might be better to remove terraforming all together. and i think this is not what we want. so the main goal should be to make this work. and maybe we can help with that process.

i had some time to think about it. so here some of my thoughts. of cource i am no software engineer and i have no insight of how things are coded atm.

Terraforming with plan for what reason?:
well i think its pretty clear that the purpose on that is for base building and not for base assault. so i see no problems if you have some limits in this to prevent unintended things from happening.

Block "plan terraforming" in the same area
one simple idea to prevent multible plan usage in one area is to simply not allow it.
lets say you create a plan, put a probe on it and fire the probe. the terrain will then move according as a whole towards the plan. to prevent interaction of 2 or more plans you simple cant activate a probe if their plan is overlapping with another one that has a "active" probe. for save keeping even add a 5 or 10 tile "phantom border" to the plans that are not allowed to touch while terraforming.
you can even add a visual effect like a beacon of light that might be visible over a few km on active terraforming probes to make it even more obvious why somebody migh get a error message and cant terraform there.

Volume of terraforming