Topic: Hoverbots

I have no idea how any of these could be implemented or what game balancing
would be required - I'm not a game designer; I'll leave that to the experts. smile

Terrain:
Make the terrain effect the speed and manoverability of the bots. It should be slower
going uphill for example, faster on concrete, swamp-like terrain somewhere in between.
Perhaps allow bots to maintain speed going uphill by burning accumulator? I suppose you
could free-wheel down hill and recharge the accumulator?

Hoverbots:
I don't mean flying bots but hovercraft instead of tracks or wheels. Coupled with the
terrain mods the hoverbots would still slow down going up hill but would maintain speed
on swamp-like ground. Then add more lakes to the islands and allow the hoverbots to skim
across the lakes or perhaps even go around the inland shore of the islands.

2 (edited by Celebro 2011-12-04 15:08:26)

Re: Hoverbots

Hoverbot freighter coming next week I think, dunno how it's going to work though.

RIP PERPETUUM

I think this is a great idea.

I would like to see more tracked bots as well as wheeled bots too.

The Gifter
Top  Killer 2013  - 01: 334 -- 17 -- 317  : Merkle
Top  Killer 2012  - 01: 027 -- 472 -- 445 : Merkle

Scarab Kill Count - 13

Hoverbots, like the upcoming freighter, should be able to ignore certain terrain gradients and/or objects (like rocks & plants) and traverse water.

As always, game mechanics trumps physics, but 'hovering' doesn't mean the vehicle can ignore slopes.

---- Just for fun ----

Center of gravity and power to weight are two defining factors when looking at the ability for a vehicle to navigate a slope.